Help!!

monkeyt

Featured Posts

Hello, I'm totally new to this and I need help.

Me and my fiancee are two skint 20 somethings that can't afford property prices (Who can!) and are considering the idea of living on a narrowboat.

We have got ideas on the type and style of boat we want but we need more info on thing like running costs, finding residential moorings, licences and safety certificates etc. We both work close to the River Wey in Surrey and ideally want a mooring close to byfleet/pyrford.

If anyones got clues as to where to start all info will be gratefully recieved!!

Thanks!!

Monkey

Welcome to the forum.

The only difference to the running cost of a boat and a house is the boat will probably be more than the house.

The only advantage of a boat is the buying price.

The Wey is a 'special' situation, we have a member on the forum that is connected with the Wey they may be able to help

Have a search 'top right' for any queries, most have been answered but if you cannot find the answer do ask again.

Me and my fiancee are two skint 20 somethings that can't afford property prices (Who can!) and are considering the idea of living on a narrowboat.

We have got ideas on the type and style of boat we want but we need more info on thing like running costs, finding residential moorings, licences and safety certificates etc. We both work close to the River Wey in Surrey and ideally want a mooring close to byfleet/pyrford.

If anyones got clues as to where to start all info will be gratefully recieved!!

Thanks!!

Please feel free to take a look at my web site which details much of what we have done to our boat to make it a liveaboard for 5. The website starts with the usual www and is then canalpages it is a dot co dot uk site. (Sorry about the odd way of giving the address but it stops 'bots' crawling the address.

Follow the link for 'going liveaboard'

Would be more than happy to tell you all I know (shouldn't take more than 2 - 3 minutes :lol: )

Steev