Bristol Harbour area and general advice for novice!

Steerpike

Featured Posts

I am currently looking at the possibility of living aboard in Bristol Harbour. I have not lived aboard a boat before though have taken holidays on them. It definitely appeals and I have been researching quite a lot about the practicalities of making the transition. I don’t think I am naïve about the difficult side of being a boat owner / dweller but am daunted by the prospect of stepping into this world for the first time. I am not a property owner at the moment so the funds I could raise would be quite limited. I’m thinking about a loan secured against the boat or a marine mortgage and I have checked out Barclays Marine for this – any advice on this would be greatly appreciated).

I would ideally look at getting a Dutch Barge – I live alone though am relatively tall and think I would benefit from the extra space. If I was able to find something suitable and (and I appreciate it’s a big and) get a mooring in Bristol somewhere then I think my focus would be on having it as a floating apartment rather than a vessel to travel any distance at the moment. I think for this reason again I would benefit from a more ‘permanent’ type mooring and could sacrifice manoeuvrebility for getting something a bit bigger than a narrowboat.

To cut to the chase, I’m really not sure how to take this forward. I don’t want to get too excited by the idea only to find I cannot get a mooring in Bristol. And which step to take first? I don’t want to put myself forward on any waiting list and then struggle to find the right boat or to secure the mortgage when a mooring comes up. And I’m not sure at what stage of completion / standard at which to buy a boat – I certainly cant afford the brand new fully fitted replica barges. If I were to buy a newish hull / shell, are there some good local / reputable boatbuilders / engineers / fitters who could take on fitting the interior?