27th/29th august 2011

Roxy

Featured Posts

As some of you already know, I'm new to boating. Im planning a little trip away from my moorings (Redhill Marina@Ratcliffe) for this coming bank holiday weekend. My 9 yr daughter and I would like to know where to go, dont want to go to far though. Just be nice to wake up to different surroundings. I have work on the Saturday so time wise we will be on the boat and ready to go approx 13.00pm. I will basically be single handed as my daughter is very clumsy and I dont want her jumping on and off the boat at locks. Someone said cruise upto Beeston Marina, but was told by another that I would be wasting my time as theres nothing there and to head towards Zouch.

Please help!

Regards

Rachel

You can't moor at Zouch cut from today for 5 weeks...BW closed the towpath for works :( You may get to moor next to the pub there though on their own mooring...otherwise Normanton? Or even Loughborough, lots there, and lots of us fellow boaters too!

Wherever you go, have a good one! :cheers:

Edited by Ally

You can't moor at Zouch cut from today for 5 weeks...BW closed the towpath for works :( You may get to moor next to the pub there though on their own mooring...otherwise Normanton? Or even Loughborough, lots there, and lots of us fellow boaters too!

Wherever you go, have a good one! :cheers:

Brilliant Ally, how long do you think it would take us to get to Loughborough? Im probably one of those annoying boaters that goes as slow as a snail (apologise in advance) will it be easy to moor up there overnight?

Many Thanks

Rachel

Brilliant Ally, how long do you think it would take us to get to Loughborough? Im probably one of those annoying boaters that goes as slow as a snail (apologise in advance) will it be easy to moor up there overnight?

Many Thanks

Rachel

Redhill to Loughborough , say 8-9 miles at a guess, Ratcliffe, Kegworth Deep , Zouch & the 2 locks at Loughborough.

Depending on Kegworth Deep , around 3hrs.