Rev Counter

Featured Posts

Wouldn't mind having a rev counter on the boat... but when it comes to electrics I am a complete noob. Are these relatively easy to fit or not?

Where abouts would I be able to get the appropriate rev counter from?

Thanks in advance...

When I had a Perkins P3 many moons ago, the tacho was mechanical, and driven through a long cable with a rotating inner.

These days you would far more likely to to an electrically activated one.

As I understand it they require that your alternator has a "W" terminal, so actually measure the RPM of the alternator, but then have to be calibrated to reflect the engine speed.

Not all alternators have this terminal - ours doesn't for example, but I think you can open up the alternator and add a wire to do the same thing.

As well as on e-Bay, they are available from quite a few marine outlets.

Here's an example from e-Bay

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DURITE-12-24v-TACHOM...Q2em118Q2el1247

but as that one goes up to 4000rpm, you'd not be using a lot of the dial at canal speeds. I'm sure you could find ones marked up to, say, 2000rpm, and almost certainly cheaper ones too.

Alan

Edited by alan_fincher

Thanks Allen :D

Might be a daft question, but I suppose questions aren't daft when you don't know the answer...

If you have a twin alternator set-up, which alternator would it be hooked up to, and would this "W" terminal be labelled as such?

What other electrickery is involved??

If you have a twin alternator set-up, which alternator would it be hooked up to, and would this "W" terminal be labelled as such?

If both have the required terminal, i can see no reason why you could not hook up to either.

I believe a 'W' terminal would normally be marked, unless you have an alyernator like mine where any original markings have been obliterated when the marinisers sprayed it all over in engine colour.