12v versus 24v

NB Esk

Featured Posts

Hi everyone, just looking for opinions/experiences of 12 and 24volt systems. I've looked thro' various old threads, using the search facility, but haven't come across anything that relates directly to this.

I need some food for thought, as I'm coming to the point of alternator mountings, etc (on my vintage engine) so the relative pros & cons would be of help, in knowing which system to go for.

Has anyone owned different boats, and experienced both 12v & 24v? What were the advantages(or otherwise)?

The engine electrics are 12v and will be seperate from the leisure electrics (except earth of course). Even so, is there any possible conflict, if the leisure electrics are 24v?

I work on vehicles with both systems, and understand things like voltage drop(though I'm not an electrician)

but I have the feeling there'll be a bit more to it.

So.........12 or 24?

Thanks for any comments............

Hi John.

The only advantage of a 24 volt system over 12 volts is as you have worked out is that of volt drop. You should however avoid having a dual voltage system unless you can arrange to drive two alternators. Why do you want to have 24 volt domestics when the engine is 12 volts.

At one time there were good reasons to fit 24 volt systems, there was equipment that was made for the 24v systems in commercial vehicles and coaches that was not available in the lower voltage but I don't think that is the case any more, in fact there are many things that are only available in 12v.

The difference in wiring cost and the potential problem of added bulk of the 12v system is very marginal.

There are ways of designing a dual voltage system using a single alternator, in fact I designed one for a member of this forum but it is very complex, I wouldn't advise it.

I have designed and wired systems for both 12V and 24V boats.