Shropshire Union 2007

HYBRID

Featured Posts

We arrived at Middlewich Narrowboats at 1.00pm Friday 20th July 2007 and reported a couple of hours early to the reception. After establishing our boat could be ready within an hour we set off to the nearest pub for a bite to eat, whilst the cleaning of 57 foot Semi trad “Rowan” continued. We returned to the boat yard an hour later and began unloading the contents of our car into the boat. I left the other crew to find spaces for all the food and gear whilst I studied the handbook and checked the inventory. We noted the bed arrangements were not correct and then spotted we needed extra pillows and duvets; this was easily resolved by the staff. After about an hour of chaos on board I handed in a signed form to say we were ready. The boat was facing the wrong way up the canal and with no winding hole near by and directly in front of us were locks we were anxious about losing valuable cruising time heading off in the wrong direction through busy locks as we hoped to make Barbridge Junction a four hour cruise for our first evening. I hadn’t handled a Narrowboat for 27 years (I was 13 the last time) so wasn’t confident at reversing the boat 200 yards around a shallow bend to Middlewich Junction. I ticked the box indicating we required instruction in boat handling and explained to the engineer demonstrating the boat systems that the instruction required was for reversing the boat.

Top bloke, no problem he said and five minutes later we are pointing in the correct direction and entering the first lock on the Shropshire Union Middlewich Branch Canal, the engineer had jumped ship and we are off.

Its 4.30pm and our self imposed schedule of Barbridge junction will be tight but still possible if I am to believe the online planner I have used to plan the entire trip.

We soon settle into a cruise that because of time constraints is a little faster than I would have hoped for, but were not causing any wash related problems.