East Midlands Ring - any advice?

Zoe

Featured Posts

So we have two weeks booked from Saturday with Black Prince from their new base at Napton, and we intend to do the East Midlands Ring. We've been looking at the Nicholson guide and fairly arbitarily we decided that we should do it anti-clockwise. Is this the right choice? Would navigating the parts on the rivers Trent and Soar be easier in one direction than the other? Nicholson's guide issues some rather bland warnings about flooding and strong weirs on the river sections. Are these actually a problem at this time of the year? I know things could change if there were a few days of heavy rain but otherwise will there be any problems on the rivers? We have been on the Severn when we did the Stourport Ring so we are not complete novices at rivers. I didn't like the Severn but that was more about it being very wide and without a towpath rather than problems with the flow.

I've already read here that stopping in Leicester is not advised, so has anyone any suggestions of good places to moor (on the whole route, not just near Leicester) - preferably with a pub with food or restaurant nearby (say within a mile's walk) - this is a holiday and I'm not planning to do much cooking if I can help it!

Thanks in advance for any suggestions :unsure:

Zoë