Big Boat or Small boat? FAO Liveaboards...

golden_chapati

Featured Posts

Hi all,

I'm new to all this and looking to buy a narrowboat for a liveaboard and I was wondering what is the general consensus regarding boat length? Seems to me the ratio is cost and maneuverability vs livability and storage space. Is there some sort of 'sweet spot' for a single person i.e. 40ft? I suppose it also depends on layout and how space is utilized? Any liveaboards have experiences to share?

Thanks!

You will get many differeng replies. For me its a no brainer in the bigger the better. We have lived on full time in order of appearance 56, 42, 57, 65 and 70 narrow then 50 wide now 68 narrow. Also a wooden boat in the middle which we shall discount at this time. Over the usual approx 57 foot length there are place you cant go but they are minimal and the extra space is hugeley beneficial. When asking for opinions you need to ask people what they have lived on as many will swear fifty is enough but in reality have no other experience to share. Just remember boats correctly priced sell instantly so you can always move if you wish, the above number we have lived on proves that point, all sold easily at reasonable money.

13 minutes ago, golden_chapati said:

Hi all,

I'm new to all this and looking to buy a narrowboat for a liveaboard and I was wondering what is the general consensus regarding boat length? Seems to me the ratio is cost and maneuverability vs livability and storage space. Is there some sort of 'sweet spot' for a single person i.e. 40ft? I suppose it also depends on layout and how space is utilized? Any liveaboards have experiences to share?

Thanks!

So many variables.

We don't liveaboard but since retiring spend 5 or 6 months on board + the odd Winter trips.

I know that is not the same as living full time, but I reckon I have a fair idea of what I would need.

I doubt I could have lived comfortably on my 30 x 7

I could have comfortably lived on my 45 x 7