Looking for first narrowboat hull questions

piman

Featured Posts

Hello Canal World

Newbie here, considering buying my first narrowboat. I have some questions that you might help with but all observations appreciated.

REQUIREMENTS

• extended holiday cruising (summer mostly but winter too)
  • 2 people + 2 guest berths
  • budget ~£30K

PREFERENCES (not essential)

• trad
  • generous well deck
  • portholes

DECENT HULL
I intend to get a pre-sale survey but as these are expensive I am stuck wondering how to select which boat to survey. I would rather spend on a decent hull (over a fancy interior). However, online or on-the-boat, I have no way to judge the condition of the hull.

Do you have any tips to spot a decent hull?

From what little I've learnt I think I'd like to avoid an overplated hull.

Will I find a narrowboat with an unplated good hull for £30K?

Is overplating a worry anyway?

1995 50' JONATHON WILSON £25K
Take this boat. A well known hull builder for £25K. The interior is shabby so that's great, I can do up. Unfortunately there's no info about the hull and you have to wonder why it hasn't sold for so long.

What do you think of this boat, is it worth looking at?

http://cvmarine.co.uk/2017/03/30/allenvera-50ft-traditional-narrowboat/

1997 50' JONATHON WILSON £35K
Has a good recent survey. This is above budget but I could save money on the survey, sell the kids xmas gifts and make an offer.

What do you think of this boat, would you dream of buying it without a survey?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/narrowboat-1997-Jonathan-Wilson-6-berths/153295795041

Thanks
Phil

Edited by piman