Dawncraft questions

Craigw

Featured Posts

Hello guys, 

I’m new to boating, just got a dawncraft 22 which I’m renovating and really looking forward to getting into the water. It’s just a shell really and have started to fit it out. It’s on a trailer atm and I would like to get it on the water to check it’s all watertight and sound before I completely fit it out (my thinking being if there was a dribble I’d rather sort it first and not by ripping the internals out to get to it). I would then plan to do the last bits whilst it was floating. I know I need a safety certificate etc before going on the water but would I get one granted for little more than a shell? Any advice would be appreciated 

11 minutes ago, Craigw said:

Any advice would be appreciated 

It sounds as if the boat would be exempt from the BSS (until you start fitting out.

Can you comply with the attached ?

https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/media/original/733-boat-safety-scheme-certificate-application-for-exemption.pdf

Thank you Alan, there is no gas or electrics  fitted and it has an outboard so I guess it would be exempt for the time being and after I’ve done them I could get the certificate. 

harry I’m hoping to keep it light but I’ve never seen it in the water so I don’t know how low it sits, I’m hoping not very. The rubbing strips have been screwed in and a bit of sealant rubbed around them but they come all the way through, making me a touch nervous.

I also have a Dawncraft 22. We should start a gang  ;):D

Mine has two big planks of wood along the bottom of the boat which are completely submerged. I was (wisely!) advised to put plenty of sealant around them to keep the water out as I believe they're screwed into the bottom of the boat.

Like the others have said, the wooden side beams are screwed into the side of the boat and in some cases, you can see the screw on the inside. They should all be above the water line.