is it possible to lower a boats airdraft by heavily ballasting?

Tara1234

Featured Posts

Hey so im thinking of getting a project 31 in the future. However its airdraft is about 8 ft. The K and A has many bridges that are 7 and a half foot. So I was thinking could I traverse the K and A by putting a load of bricks into the back and weigh it down by about a foot. This type of boat is fairly high in the water and id like to have a nice size boat with the ability to go to europe but still have some options back in the uk.

Yes it is possible but you will need a heck of a lot of bricks.

My fuel tank takes 2800 litres (about 2.5 tonnes) and the difference between empty and full is less than 12" 

Taking a standard brick at 4lbs weight there are 560 to the tonne.

You will need something like 1200+ bricks - or to put it another way 3 pallet loads.

Do you have sufficient freeboard to drop your draft by 12" ?

Obviously I have no knowledge of your sailing abilities or experience but are you aware that the English Channel is the busiest waterway in the world, and that there are huge fines for contravening traffic regulations. Do you have VHF radio and have the 'ships licence' in addition to your operators certificate ?

Once you arrive in 'Europe' you need to have approved sailing qualifications to enter the French (for example) waterways.

You must ensure that you clean out the red diesel tanks before leaving the UK, and fill up with tax-paid white diesel (Red diesel is not legal in Europe)

Continental boating is much more regulated than the UK and no doubt will become much less welcoming to UK boater after March 2019.

Edited by Alan de Enfield

11 minutes ago, Tara1234 said: