License for Grand Union

Cruiser_Boy

Featured Posts

Hi ,

I’m new to boating and hope to have a new boat by the end of September. Offer in place awaiting survey.

It’s currently on the Trent and Mersey canal and I want to move it onto the Grand Union for mooring - Crick preferably.

I intend to buy a gold license in January but until then I will buy a license for the GU only.

Will this cover all arms of the GU or just some of it?

The Leicester arm of the GU seems to swap between GU and the river Soar. Does the license cover the river as well?

Also what’s the cheapest way to be licensed for the short trip down  the T and M to get onto the GU?

Hi and good luck with the boat. You don't buy a licence for individual canals - one Canal and River Trust licence covers all the canals and rivers. Best read their website for full details and to find what suits your needs.

https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/enjoy-the-waterways/boating/licensing-your-boat

12 minutes ago, starman said:

Hi and good luck with the boat. You don't buy a licence for individual canals - one Canal and River Trust licence covers all the canals and rivers. Best read their website for full details and to find what suits your needs.

https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/enjoy-the-waterways/boating/licensing-your-boat

That's not quite right, but it covers all the areas asked about by the OP.

CRT licences cover the canals and rivers that CRT are the navigation authority for - which is most of them.

Other navigation authorities exist -  for example the EA, if you want to go on the Thames or the East Anglian rivers/navigations.  Other specific areas have different requirements - the River Avon, the Bridgewater Canal, the Basingstoke Canal etc.

Edited by TheBiscuits

Whether you'll need a gold licence (which is for a calendar year) depends on where you plan to go in 2019, as follows: