12v battery or do i go 6v

Matt&Jo

Featured Posts

I know this has been done to death but i have a specific question id like experience to answer.

I am new to this malarky but im okay.....ish with batteries and how to keep them healthy. I know of the different stages ie bulk or abs....now our boat we brought has knackered and i mean shot to bits 4 x 110amph leisure batts so get your wallet out time matt.....

Know do i get a rewire and go 6v trojan t105's x4 aware i may need to mod my batt box or just get 4 x 110amph varta replacements both around £140 a batt......or do i get cheapos and expect to kill them and learn so when i do spend more i practicaly in application make them last.....

What ya reckon wonderfluffle forumites?

It depends on how you use them, how much capacity you actually need, and how you intend to charge them.

My experience was 2 sets of el cheapo leisure batteries. Both sets started to lose capacity very quickly, within a few months, despite long cruising days when we were out and on shore power in the marina. But we did use them fairly hard. I rather got the feeling that once the capacity had fallen to 50% it tended to plateau there so if in fact the usage was mostly lights, pumps etc this wouldn’t matter. I changed the first set after about 6 months (but they had been on the boat for a while when it was in build). I managed to scrape 2 years leisure use out of the second, but only with a lot of faffing (regular equalising to restore major lost capacity which eventually killed them)

I suspect that people who claim a set of el cheapos lasts 2 years of liveaboard use are very light users and don’t notice a problem until they are down to 25% capacity or thereabout. They tend not to have any means to determine remaining capacity.