Help requested in Aldermaston!

blythecooper

Featured Posts

Hi Everyone,

I have just bought my first narrowboat, and I am hoping I might be able to find some experienced boaters happy to take me out for a few hours on the water to show me the ropes. I'm a complete newbie, having only taken the boat out on a test drive with the previous owner, and would like to learn from as many experienced folk as possible before beginning the big journey.

Is anybody close to Aldermaston that would be open to spending some time on the water with me? I can offer endless cups of tea/coffee, delicious food, and a lovely day out on the waterways!

Days/times are flexible to suit.. I've got the mooring here until the start of June, after which I will be setting out on my first big journey! Any takers?

Thanks,

Blythe

Depends how much of a rush you're in. Where is the boat in Aldermaston? When would you like to/must you move it by? I have the odd day free in a month or so and a day on the water at that end of the K&A would appeal. Others will be closer and available sooner I should imagine. 

Endless tea and some food is the going rate for crew, someone local should help you. I've crewed for various people on the forum, but it's maybe a bit far for a few hours' boating for me, outside London I tend to go for longer trips.

From Newbury down to Reading navigation can get quite exciting when there's more water than usual going down the Kennet, which enters and leaves the canal at certain points. There was a CRT warning notice after the recent heavy rain suggesting that only experienced boaters should go out on it, but with the current drier weather I expect it's returning to normal about now.