Small Bath Options? - People's thoughts and experiences, please?

Featured Posts

Our thoughts are starting to turn to what our options are for refitting the bathroom on our "Flamingo".

Initially we were proposing to rip out the massive and ridiculous bath that is a legacy of the previous owner, and replace with just a shower.

However, even now we have reduced the total bathroom length by around 3 feet, we still have more than adequate space that we could fit a much smaller bath if we choose to.

Ideally this would be not much more than about 1.2 metres (approx 4 feet) long.

Available baths seem to be either those that are just a small tub, like this....

https://www.midlandchandlers.co.uk/store/category/1598/product/wd-022.aspx

or those that are "sit" baths, like this........

https://www.qssupplies.co.uk/bathroom-furniture-shower-taps/87293.htm?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9PLql6al2QIVBSjTCh2THAQTEAQYAiABEgL7BPD_BwE

I have no practical experience of either on a narrow boat, (though they bring back memories of Travelodge stays in the past, before that outfit started ripping them out in favour of showers).

Could I ask people who have either type fitted, or have at least tried to use them, what they think the possible advantages and disadvantages might be of each.

Im 6', and my son is considerably taller.  I can't quite work out how practical trying to fully sit down in the "non shelf" version might be.

(I suspect that much of the time it would just be used as a shower tray, but we think it might be useful to have the"small bath" option available also.)

We had one of the first type in our last boat. Of course it was not as comfy as a full-length one but it served its purpose and, of course, it would fit sideways in the bathroom while still allowing space for a corridor.