Boating Crew Experience Needed

Forget Me Not

Featured Posts

Hi, I'm completely new to boating to the point where I've never set foot on a moving boat. I am considering selling my house and buying a liveaboard. it's a huge step! I am wanting to check that the move will be right for me. 

It's been suggested that offering to help out as crew would be a good way to gain some experience.

Could anyone offer me a short cruise sometime in the New Year? I live in the East Midlands but I do drive, so I could travel to meet you. I would prefer a short trip of just a weekend as I have dogs that I would need to arrange a sitter for, and I have a job I need to get back to.

I am DBS checked for my job and I would expect us to find out a bit about each other first, to make sure we will both be comfortable.

Many thanks in advance.

Edited by Forget Me Not

3 minutes ago, Sea Dog said:

It was a good suggestion try boating first. What is your desire to sell your house and buy a boat based on?

I was thinking that, also why were these offers not out there when I was young and single ;)

20 minutes ago, Sea Dog said:

It was a good suggestion try boating first. What is your desire to sell your house and buy a boat based on?

I visited a friend on her boat, which is moored in a marina. It was summer and lots of the boaters were out socializing with each other. I had a chance to look around a few people's boats. The boats were lovely and cosy and appealed to me. The cost of living was a big draw as all my wage goes into my house at present. The people and atmosphere were so lovely, welcoming and warm. I just had the gut feeling that I would really love the life. I've always enjoyed camping and caravaning holidays and as a child had a romantic notion that I should have been a gypsy. I am also a huge nature lover and would love to live a more rural life.