Leoch Batteries ???

Richard10002

Featured Posts

I have no personal experience with them but looking at the specs I note that their cycle life isn't terribly good at a quoted 500 cycles at 50%. Better AGMs (at far higher cost of course) will give double that or more. 

I am not well up on the specifics of different types of batteries but now I have 6 newish flooded lead acids, I am looking at what to get next time. I am trying to work out what to look for - so a chance here to get more info from you lot!

These Leogh AGMs seem very cheap and especially if Rusty got them for £85 - almost as cheap as the cheap flooded one. The cycles at 50% is actually 600 rather than 500. I have done  a bit of searching and seem to be coming out with 300 cycles being 'average' for 50% DOD on cheap flooded ones - is this typical? It would be useful to see a graph of cycles vs DOD as then you can see if it worth doubling the size of the bank and halving the DOD. Is this graphical data normally available?  I am finding a lot of sites dont show it. Maybe I am looking in the wrong place.

Even ignoring the cycles are double that of cheapo LA's, would these Leogh's be better bet as I think I read here you can charge them at a higher voltage hence a shorter time to 100% SOC which has to be worth a few squid more for each battery.