Boat length for canals

Kevsco

Featured Posts

Hi everyone

My first post as I am new to the sport of narrow boats!

I am actively looking for a boat and considering buying a 60 foot trad stern.

My concern is will this boat be able to cruise the whole network or will it be to long for many cant locks?

Thanks for your help.

Kevsco

You may find this useful. http://www.jim-shead.com/waterways/mwp.php?wpage=CraftSize.htm

As it says there, 57' will pretty much go anywhere (with the exception of Brandon Lock on the Little Ouse which is about 40').

There are various tales of how to get a 60' boat through a 57' lock - at an angle, with some wiggling, going downhill backwards etc.

Edited by Scholar Gypsy

Hi everyone

I am actively looking for a boat and considering buying a 60 foot trad stern.

My concern is will this boat be able to cruise the whole network or will it be to long for many cant locks?

Thanks for your help.

Kevsco

Its the length of nb I have. Have cruised a large part of the network and haven't been beaten yet, including recently the nominal 57 foot locks of the Calder and Hebble.

Many thanks to you guys. The link from Scholar Gypsy is particularly useful containing a wealth of information.

By' eck your post gives me confidence that this length of boat is not over long and should have sufficient internal space for extended cruising.

It is great to find a forum like this with so many good people willing to help beginners by imparting their knowledge and experiences. Looking forward to completing our purchase and getting afloat!

Before buying my own 60 foot boat, I had shares in two 58 foot boats. Between them they covered almost every inch of thethe navigable UK canal system.

They also had more "usable" room than my present 60 foot boat. Interior space is also determined by design as well as length.