Oil Pressure Gauge

5thHorseman

Featured Posts

As a total noob to Gardner engines (2 weeks) I am the proud owner of a 1960's 2LW with a dicky oil pressure gauge. The Gauge reads 55psi (ie needle straight up) with the engine stopped and wiggles about a bit around the 55psi mark with the engine running (note my grasp of technical terms).

Is this a dustbin job or is there something simple that I can do to make it work properly.

Alister

The fault is with the engine, so I suggest you donate it to a forum member who is looking for one, and seek a replacement for yourself!

Nice one. I did say noob not numpty.clapping.gif

After only two weeks I could not go back to the sound of a (dare I say it here) Isuzu

Sorry, not much help but my 3LW has two oil pressure guages, one (4") mounted on the engine and the other via a small tube to a guage mounted on the pigeon box.

The previous owner's notes suggest that 35psi is normal. Apparently this is the pressure regulated by the bypass valve. On initial start the oil pressure goes to 40psi and immediately drops to 37psi. Worryingly, essential components are only lubricated by the bypass circuit so it is good to know that oil pressure is more than adequate.

If it were mine I would remove, clean and overhaul the guage or find a workshop that can do the same and calibrate it.

Alan

I would look on ebay for a suitable replacement - search for:

• vintage brass pressure gauge (the most hits)
  • or bourdon gauge (the type)
  • or Budenberg (the best make).

Look for one that goes from approx 0-60 psi. They polish up a treat if brass.

Gardners operate at either 45psi or IIRC some newer ones at 35 psi.

PS I presume you just bought your boat - it's a nice one I remember it being featured and seen it on the canal.

I put one for engine and one for gearbox in engine room. (6" size).

20140330_104841_zpsc9f5e99b.jpg

And 4" size on roof (you can add fittings to pipe to affix and bring away from Pigeon Box).