Ashby Canal

Leo No2

Featured Posts

I read (on the dark side - http://www.narrowboatworld.com/index.php/news-flash/7238-ecologists-want-to-close-ashby-canal) this morning a proposal from Natural England that the Ashby should be closed and the Shakerstone festival stopped. Because I know very little about the Ashby (sadly but I shall make amends) I have to take what I have read at face value for the time being.

Having seen Aquarius and Ilford carry their coal around a large (ish) proportion of the system this summer to raise the profile of the Ashby and campaign for more restoration I am saddened by that which I have read. My background is with the Basingstoke, another canal imposed upon, at the 11th hour by Natural England, and read of the issues on the Montgomery. I know how much power they weild (in the main without attending any meetings - that from experience).

I do hope there will be huge support for maintaining the Ashby as a navigable canal and that there will be support for its further restoration and the continuation of the Shakerstone festival.

I read (on the dark side - http://www.narrowboatworld.com/index.php/news-flash/7238-ecologists-want-to-close-ashby-canal) this morning a proposal from Natural England that the Ashby should be closed and the Shakerstone festival stopped. Because I know very little about the Ashby (sadly but I shall make amends) I have to take what I have read at face value for the time being.

Having seen Aquarius and Ilford carry their coal around a large (ish) proportion of the system this summer to raise the profile of the Ashby and campaign for more restoration I am saddened by that which I have read. My background is with the Basingstoke, another canal imposed upon, at the 11th hour by Natural England, and read of the issues on the Montgomery. I know how much power they weild (in the main without attending any meetings - that from experience).