Trying to calm my fears...

bohomon

Featured Posts

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I hope you good folk will indulge my wibbles and wobbles and plain ol' getting stuff off my chest. I have no one else to talk this out with so here I am....

I've been researching living aboard for a few weeks and will continue to for some time (until I sell my heavily-mortgaged house and eventually buy a boat!).

I'm a nomad at heart and have lived around the world. Living in a bricks-and-mortar is like a prison to me. I always end up travelling but realised that what I need is to be permanently moving.

I have zero experience working a narrowboat. I'm a single mum with a 6 yr-old so I have a whole bunch of fears and concerns. ninja.gif

1. Security

2. Buying with no knowledge of what to look for

3. Mechanical maintanence/repairs (when away from a marina)

4. Getting bought boat from A to B

5. Cruising solo (handling locks, mooring in high winds, etc etc etc)

6. Getting the boat grounded, or engine cutting out while cruising, etc

7. Regular friends for my daughter

So #4 has been put to rest as reading another thread just now I discovered that there are people who will take your boat to across the country if need be. BIG weight off my shoulders.

I know that driving the thing will be like learning to drive a car (fearful at first but you soon learn it's not so bad) except even easier as it's 4mph! So no fear there. I'll do the certificate.

#2 - I know I would get a survey, but like buying a house, there's much more to it than that. Not just the state of the boat, but knowing what it 'should' include, or could include to make it better suited to us. (or an idea of what it would cost to make changes).

Ok, that's a lot for one post. :)

One for BSP and co me thinks

Sorry bohomon, there are a few who I think can relate better than me, or others.