Wide Locks

cazberry

Featured Posts

Hi everyone,

am going through some wide locks (for the first time) this weekend and as a comparative novice I could do with some advice. If you are in the lock on your own is it best to use the middle rope to steady the boat?, as I've heard the boat can be bounced around a bit...and....even if there is someone sharing the lock....would you still do this?

Any sensible advice gratefully received as I'm feeling a tad apprehensive as this is my first cruise since I injured my arm in an accident . (I will have crew but they will be even more 'novice' than me!!

thanks in advance!

When going up, open the ground paddle on the same side as the boat, first.

Only partially open the ground panel initially, to allow the boat to settle.

If only boat, a centre line would be advisable, round a bollard but with someone watching and controlling it at all times.

Mainly take your time and do not let others rush you.

If you want to, name the locks and the time, someone may be in the vicinity to advise/help.

Hi everyone,

am going through some wide locks (for the first time) this weekend and as a comparative novice I could do with some advice. If you are in the lock on your own is it best to use the middle rope to steady the boat?, as I've heard the boat can be bounced around a bit...and....even if there is someone sharing the lock....would you still do this?

Any sensible advice gratefully received as I'm feeling a tad apprehensive as this is my first cruise since I injured my arm in an accident . (I will have crew but they will be even more 'novice' than me!!

thanks in advance!

Firstly. If you are happier using a centreline, use it. Just be careful, especially going down, that it doesn't jam.

Going down you shouldn't bump and bang, normally just a gentle descent. You may drift across as the prevailing crosswind changes direction but if you have plenty of crew that hardly matters.