The first weekend

rbateman

Featured Posts

I am totally new to boating.

I bought a widebeam a few weeks ago and a friend and I came up to Mirfield in Yorkshire this weekend to pick it up after having it re-blacked. I had hope to stay on it for a few days before getting it craned out and transported down to London. It now seems unlikely that that's going to happen anytime soon.

Firstly, the water pipes had burst in 11 places due to freezing (the shipyard not having drained the boat). With a friend, and numerous trips to B&Q, we managed to fix this up to the point where, as best as I can tell, there's no leakages anywhere.

The engine (a BMC 1500) worked fine when we turned it on for the first time, though there was no actual starter battery - just 3 batteries serving for both the starter and leisure supply. Worried about draining this very quickly, we rewired it using the battery switch that was installed (but not in use). There is now an individual starter battery (a Banner battery with 640 CCA) and two 70W leisure batteries whose combined output voltage is only 9v, despite being fully charged (according to the Absaar 20amp battery charger we're running off a generator.) Having rewired the system, it now seems like the engine just won't turn over. It turns on, the ignition light is lit, and the voltage registered is ±11, but it only cranks over once or twice before stopping. I'm unable to tell whether this is because the battery has too low a power rating (74AH) or because it's not charged enough (despite the fact the charger saying it is). Wiring it directly to the engine without being connected to the switch also fails to start the engine.

On top of this, because the leisure batteries are so terrible, now that they've been rewired properly, the lighting on the boat is incredibly dim to the point of being useless.