Correct way to navigate tunnels

boatsandsteam

Featured Posts

I have been hiring canal boats for the last 12 years, mainly on the Oxford canal, Kennet and Avon and once on the Shropshire Union. Next year we intend to go from Napton along the Grand Union and up the Grand Union Leicester arm. This will involve Braunston tunnel among others - which I have yet to encounter on the canal system

I have read various stories in relation to Braunston - going too slow, going too fast, bows being sucked away from walls by passing boats, boats colliding and so forth.

What is the opinion of the forum as the best way to approach Braunston (and similar) tunnels where boats can pass? Stay in the middle? Stay close to the wall? Maintain speed? Slow down for on coming?

Thanks

Exactly as you would/should when navigating the normal canal

Stay in the middle, maintain a reasonable speed. When meeting on coming traffic, slow down as much as possible without effecting the ability to steer, move over to the right and pass.

I find most people struggle with the slowing down bit

Try not to have your front light angled to the left or up before you go into the tunnel, as this makes it more difficult for oncoming boats. Test your light before you leave the bottom lock (chandlery for spare bulbs)

Stay in the middle unless you can see a boat approaching fairly near.

Too slow and you will probably loose steerage.]

When approaching the other boat, slow, almost to tickover and move to the side.

The tunnel walls are not a good line to take in Braunston as they wiggle.......especially at the eastern end.

Note - it doesn't matter what time of year you do it, this section is ALWAYS where you will meet an oncoming boat!!! :lol:

• Greenie 1

Maintain "normal" speed in the middle of the tunnel, when you meet an oncoming boat slow down and pull over to pass, its that easy.

J