Newbie - More power less speed?

Martin Megson

Featured Posts

Hi,

I'm new to boating and have just bought a 55ft narrowboat with 35hp Lister Petter engine. On my maiden voyage from Braunston to Napton I found the boat was cruised smoothly at around 3-4 mph at 650 revs with very little prop wash. However at times she slowed and as I applied power to 1000 rpm there was no noticeable increase in speed but a great deal of prop wash, and increased noise. I've read a bit about shallow water affecting boats but I thought that was larger vessels but just thought I'd ask if this Is a natural effect of varying water depth in the canals.

Martin

Edited by Martin Megson

Simple answer is, yes.

You have learnt one of the most important things about canals and boats, pity a few more do not learn it.

Edit: your rpm's seem a little odd compared to mine (different engine) may be someone that knows could enlighten.

Edited by bottle

Hi,

I'm new to boating and have just bought a 55ft narrowboat with 35hp Lister Petter engine. On my maiden voyage from Braunston to Napton I found the boat was cruised smoothly at around 3-4 mph at 650 revs with very little prop wash. However at times she slowed and as I applied power to 1000 rpm there was no noticeable increase in speed but a great deal of prop wash, and increased noise. I've read a bit about shallow water affecting boats but I thought that was larger vessels but just thought I'd ask if this Is a natural effect of varying water depth in the canals.

Martin

You are dragging your arse on the bottom or very close to it which slows you down.

You are dragging your arse on the bottom or very close to it which slows you down.

Agreed, and if in that situation you back off the revs slightly you might find the speed improves as the stern rises. By increasing the revs you can often make the stern sit down even more and you end up with a slower boat using more fuel.

Roger

Edited by Albion