Reversing and deadstick manoeuvring

Minos

Featured Posts

Is there any way to improve this?

I'm pretty pleased with the way our little boat manoeuvres while the prop is turning forwards, although I am still learning. The waterway at our home mooring is as wide as the boat is long, and I can turn her round there without hitting anything, so I don't think I'm a complete muppet.

There is a time lag between starting the prop and the boat responding to the tiller position. I'm assuming that this is because it needs a fairly smooth flow of water across the rudder surfaces to have an effect, and the turbulence caused when the prop starts is too chaotic - hence the lag. It's a second or so, never more.

In reverse, the tiller is useless. And if I stop the prop altogether while moving forwards, I'm effectively a passenger while the boat makes up its mind what to do next.

The thing is, the hire boat I've just given back wasn't as responsive under power, but could be steered 'deadstick' into a lock or a mooring and even steered in reverse.

Is it me? Or would a bigger/better rudder help? Or is it a characteristic of hull shape?

If you look at the rudder on a butty you will understand the problem. The normal rudder on a modern powered narrowboat is far too small to have any useful effect without the flow of water from the propeller. The rudder is useless when reversing because the water flow into the propeller is spread over a large area and is not focused on the rudder.

Reversing a narrowboat is a dark art. Some respond better than others. A couple of things to be aware of:

"Prop walk" can work for you or against you; you need t oknow how how your craft responds to it as, in my experience, its effects are more noticable in reverse.

Reversing is usually a bit hit and miss - keep an eye on the bows and watch which way it is drifting. Then a quick burst in forward will hopefully redirtect you.