80 degree thermostat on JP2

mykaskin

Featured Posts

Hi Folks,

Thanks to the breakage of my 60 degree thermostat, and the difficulty of getting a new one has meant an 80 degree one had to be fitted to keep me going.

So far, apart from the engine running much hotter, it doesn't seem to have been any problem, but I've only gone from Braunston to Alvecote.

Any thoughts on if I might have future problems?... especially when I'm running hard loaded or on rivers? What about salt water, I understand the manual suggests running at 55 degrees for salt water, but since I'm only occasionally on salt water will it be an issue - furring up?

Cheers,

Mike

My JP3 manual says that the engine should be run as close to 77 degrees as possible when not using a radiator (I have keel cooling). Can't see why a JP2 should be different but I am no expert.

Hi Folks,

Thanks to the breakage of my 60 degree thermostat, and the difficulty of getting a new one has meant an 80 degree one had to be fitted to keep me going.

So far, apart from the engine running much hotter, it doesn't seem to have been any problem, but I've only gone from Braunston to Alvecote.

Any thoughts on if I might have future problems?... especially when I'm running hard loaded or on rivers? What about salt water, I understand the manual suggests running at 55 degrees for salt water, but since I'm only occasionally on salt water will it be an issue - furring up?

Cheers,

Mike

Fulbourne's National has no thermostat, and normally runs pretty cool. I've never measured the temperature, but putting a hand under the outlet I would describe it as no more than 'warm'.

David

When running raw water it was hard to keep the correct temp. I'm not sure about your setup on the National, but there is a valve on the JP which limits the amount of water running through the engine - the rest bypassing, and going straight over board. The outlet was always cold because most of the water was bypassing the engine.