Recording Stuido Power

Bob Blues

Featured Posts

Dear all,

Please forgive me if this has been asked before I have done a search but the Board software keeps telling me I have reached my bandwidth which means can’t view Pics can’t search :help:

I am a Professional Musician and Radio presenter and have purchased a boat with the intention of put my recording stuido onto the boat where I will be in a Marina for the winter and then will cruse about for the rest of the year. I have used a CAD program to make sure I can fit the Hammond, Piano, 5 Keyboards and racks and other computer stuff into the boat without rebuilding the interior. (It might List abit hehe!).

I have a number of questions regarding Power when I am out on the cut; I bought the boat with a 2KVA inverter and it also has a standby Honda Gen and external mains hookup. I have 5 Leisure Batteries and was wondering how long I will get without running the engine. The MasterVolt control panel is not working so I’ll try to either get it changed or fix it. However, saying this I should have 550A to work with (if the batteries work!) And V*A = W, but this is s 12 volt system. If I invert the Voltage to 230v do I still have 550A? How do I work out how long this will last? My recording computer used about 1KW with the SAN disk array attached once the Hammond and Leslie are on it’s about 1.4Kw. Oh forgot to mention I also have an additional 1KVA UPS which will filter the mains so I hope the noise in the electrics are not amplified running the recordings.

Are there any pitfalls in doing this?