Live-aboard but no residential moorings.

Shasterian Noble

Featured Posts

Hi folks,

I'm a complete newbie to the forums though I've seen a number of threads on similar issues but wondered if there was any advice people could give for my particular instance?

I'm needing to stay near Oxford (within a few miles north, or anywhere on the Thames between Oxford and Reading), and I have to get to work on a daily basis. I have a car and I'm fine with cycling so don't mind an hour's ride here and there to move vehicle etc.

Now I don't really have to tell people that there are no residential moorings anywhere near Oxford that have come up in recent weeks and so I was wondering what my options might be? Are there even many places with residential moorings in this area - I would certainly consider a marina if there are any around.

Continuous Cruising sounds fantastic and is the real reason for me getting onto the canals and things in the long run, but with the 14day rules and no-return clauses, this is going to be rather difficult I would imagine whilst I need to stay near work and keep my car?

Lastly, do any others have 9 to 5 jobs that they manage to run alongside being a live-aboard? Is it even possible without ridiculous stress levels!? (I'm not bothered by emptying a loo, stacking firewood etc etc, but it's the commute I hate. Unfortunately it's not the time to be giving up a job though, no matter what it is!

Many thanks for your patience,

Mark

I was a continuous cruiser fo a few years, whilst working full-time.

I kept within the law and, pretty much, within BW's interpretation of the law (If I was forced to stop for more than 14 days I informed BW and it was never a problem.

I was lucky, though, because my job was in Rugby so the distance I could travel, by boat, and still be within an hour's commute of work, was huge.