Best Canal Boat Mag

Gobbledygook

Featured Posts

Hello All,

I'm new to the world of uk Canal and Canal Boats and would like to spend some time on deciding what is best before dipping my toe in the water, so to speak.

What is the best magazine, that covers a wide spectrum and is the most informative ?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

To be honest when starting out, buy them all. After a couple of months you'll weed out the ones that might not be relevant to you. We still subscribe to Canal Boat after 4 years, however never bother with any of the others now. If you're planning to build your own or fit out, other magazines might be preferable.

Hello All,

I'm new to the world of uk Canal and Canal Boats and would like to spend some time on deciding what is best before dipping my toe in the water, so to speak.

What is the best magazine, that covers a wide spectrum and is the most informative ?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

For me it is a dead heat between Waterways World and Canal Boat with the third monthly Canals & Rivers falling someway behind the other two magazines. In Canal Boat I particularly enjoy the cruising guides (and the quite splendid photography) of Derek Pratt. In Waterways World I really enjoy the Better Boating series. (Admittedly I'm probably the only member of this esteemed forum who needs plenty of Better Boating advice!!) :lol:

So which is the best is purely subjective. You will just have to try them for yourself and decide which one suits you the best. I do think it will be hard to decide between Waterways World and Canal Boat, which is why I subscribe to both!

Good reading!

Stewey

I subscribe to neather. Infact i dont subscribe to any magazines about anything.

As the others say, depends what you want, waterways world is proberbly the one i read most, but theres really only becuase i see more of it on the boat.