Dead Canaline 70T

Featured Posts

My son purchased a wide beam boat prior to Covid to live on in a Marina.. It has never been used on the canals and has 6.3 hours engine usage. Approx 2 months ago - March - There was a problem with the Invertor, which after resetting came clear, and the leisure batteries appreared fully charged. Tried the engine which fired up and was left for 30 minutes to run. Late afternoon i decided to try the engine again - Nothing apart from a clicking noise.. Checked the 100aH battery with a charger and noted that the voltage was 14.4 volts and current drrawn 500mA steady. added my car battery and tried again - Engine tried to rotate but failed. Battery voltage during start process was about 12.2volts. Surely not the starter motor.

Any suggestion please - The canals are calling

If any information is missing my apologies - Complete newby

If you are sure you are measuring the starter battery voltage, and are happy it is good, I would be checking for voltage drop between the starter battery and starter motor, and the isolation switches. Checking all connections are good clean and tight at the starter battery, isolator and motor, before investigating any fault with the starter motor itself.

Edited by rusty69

Having done the connection checks rusty suggests, put your multimeter across the main starter motor terminals.  You should see battery voltage.  Then turn the key to start/push the start button. If the voltage does not fall to about 9 or 10 V, suspect the starter motor internals.  If it does, and the motor is not turning, bypass any battery isolator switches and try again.  The isolation switches with a red plastic key are renowned for being carp.  They may be in either the positive run  or the negative.

N