Vactan what to overcoat with in a water tank, for safe drinking water

Featured Posts

I am currently helping my mum renovate her, we are both complete novices. We are currently doing the metal water tank, we have cleaned it out with a wire brush and applied 4 coats of vactan and are aware we need to overcoat it with 2 pack polyurethane paint but are unsure of which one to go with for safe drinking water. Sorry if this topic has been covered before i couldn't find it. Any advice we would be grateful for. Thanks 

2 pack polyurethane?  Did you mean 2 pack epoxy?  Not sure if either is good on top of Vactan which is a vinyl finish. Of the two I would go for epoxy but water tank, no taint, bitumen is what is generally used straight onto clean steel. 

Not sure why you were told 4 coats of vactan was a good idea? One coat should do the job of rust conversion, after that, a decent 2 pack epoxy or water tank bitumen should do, leave for as long as possible to dry off...

Weeks rather than days if you can as the water underneath is still cold.

Seems a shame to paint expensive water potable epoxy over Vactan. I've never heard of a two part epoxy that's designed to be applied over a rust converter, especially the Vactan type which is based on a single part polymer matrix. You're basically using a highly durable product over a much weaker one. Epoxies serve as their own primer and surface prep requires mechanical removal of the rust, not chemical conversion. I don't know why so many people can't be bothered to read the product' technical data sheets and plan the job properly? 

If you've already painted Vactan in your tank (why 4 coats I also don't understand) then your best bet is to forget about epoxy and just put a few coats of bitumen on top. 

Edited by blackrose