Battery Issues?

Featured Posts

Hi, I’m new to boating. Yesterday I noticed my water pump was continuously on, and feared I had a leak somewhere. After checking and finding no leak, and noticing my lights were also flickering, I found my battery output was at 9V. We’re plugged into shore power, so the charger should be charging the leisure batteries to at least 12V. I’ve checked the reading on the charger and it reads that the battery is charging but near 100%. We have solar panels, and when the sun is out it goes to 12.5V, but when it goes behind the clouds we’re back down to 9 or 10, with it intermittently changing between the two. Our leisure batteries are the same type, but 2 and 5 years old respectively. How can I diagnose what the issue is? From my research it seems it’s either the batteries aren’t holding charge, or the charger isn’t working, or some fuse or wiring is gone. I don’t want to buy new batteries to find out it’s the charger and ruin brand new batteries too. I’m going to buy a voltmeter today, and I’m just wondering if anyone has any advice on how to diagnose the issue. TIA!

Edited by Nattysw

At 12 volts you batteries are almost flat

At 10v your batteries are totally knackered

At 9v they are totally useless.

Once you have purchased your multimeter, come back and you'll get information of how to do the tests,

In the meantime - DO NOT BUY any more batteries until you have read this :

You can easily kill your new batteries within a couple of weeks so you need to learn how to manage them.

Good luck.

Edited by Alan de Enfield

2 minutes ago, Alan de Enfield said:

At 9v they are totally useless.

Not necessarily.

I once returned to the boat to find the batts at approx 0.01V. Yes!

I recharged them and two years later, still no ill effects.