Sizzling Where Chimney Meets Ceiling

RooF

Featured Posts

Hi folks,

Im new to life on the cut and new to the forum. I’ve recently moved into a narrowboat and have been noticing a few things that I am unsure about. 

Last night I had the wood burning stove lit and hot, when a strange noise began to happen. Every 2 or 3 minutes a sizzling hiss would come from where the chimney meets the ceiling. I’m almost certain I was the sound of water boiling away as it sounded exactly like when you drop a little water into a hot frying pan. My partner things it might have something to do with condensation running between the boards on the ceiling to where it’s hottest as she had just had a shower so humidity would have been higher than normal. 

My immediate was chimney fire, but it didn’t seem to be the crackling or popping sound that is usually associated with that issue. Has anybody else noticed this noise? How can I go about investigating it? 

Thanks,

Roo

Welcome to forum other will comment. Has boat been unused for a while , it does sound more like water is in the deckhead ie ceiling or the insulation  .

I would push the deckhead with hand pressure to see if it is rotten..

I would look at the boat roof to see if it is rusty leaking, use a knife or wire brush to clean right round include lifting out chimney

Thanks LadyG. The boat did sit unused for about 6 months so I’ll have a feel around when I can and report back. However the boat has had a survey and any weakness in the ceiling, roof leaking etc wasn’t picked up which I would have guessed it would have been if it had been present? If it is water in the ceiling, is there a possibility that once the water trapped is boiled off the noise will stop and I can continue as normal? 

Not necessarily, ,often the survey is only for the hull, the engine may not be run, and the stove won't be lit.

I would tend to keep a low fire when you are on board to allow for drying,