Wiring diagrams

ChrisL

Featured Posts

I'm sure that this has been asked before. I'm new to narrowboats and currently considering a sail away, well I'm almost at the point of saying yes after exploring some of the pit falls I might have, I'm sure mistakes will be made

I feel confident over most of the fitout but the one area I have concern is getting the wiring correct as this could destroy he hull if I get things wrong

My experience I'm a mechanical engineer but I have a reasonable understanding of electrics, House electrics I understand and am very confident with (rewired many a house but had it Checked/certified afterwards), car electrics which is possibly similar to a narrowboat again I'm confident with, I've made numerous full car looms for my cars and for friends. 

What I would like to see is some diagrams for a typical narrowboat so I can start and do 1st fix

I have seen on here some people have offered drawings but I cant reach out until I've done my 10 posts so hopefully someone or a few will make contact to assist.

I know this is not going to be easy but hopefully with the help and knowledge of others I can master this task

thanks in advance Chris

Welcome to the forum.

Your experience with household and car wiring will take you most of the way there. Things to think of with a typical inland waterways boat.

They are usually much longer than a car. For 12V cable sizes, voltage drop is typically more important than current carrying capacity for selection. Typically, to get a reasonable voltage at the other end of the boat you will need a much bigger square millimeter cable area than you'd first suspect. There are voltage drop calculators around online for this. Some boats are wired 24V, rather than 12V for this reason, but 24V gadgets are less common and sometimes more expensive than 12V.