New Narrow Boat advice

amandanadine

Featured Posts

Hi, i am so excited. We just viewed a new build boat by "the custom boat company" in Devizes Marina. I'm so excited to be ordering our very own boat from them. As the boat is custom made to our specification. I was wondering if there is any must haves that we should ask for as an extra. As I'm new to the boating world, I'm looking for your "can't live without" "wish you added" ideas 😁

IMG-20211005-WA0039(1).jpg

Edited by magpie patrick
To remove large empty space!

1 minute ago, amandanadine said:

My husband has, myself not so much.

It's always been his dream to have one, and honestly I've come back so excited after seeing this boat and what can be done. 

In that case he probably has a reasonable idea of what he likes and doesn't like in a boat already. I would get the builder to make the fixed bed at the front extendable to the full width of the boat so it can be a super king size......it'll be a 4ft double as standard and they are slightly cramped for 2.

Then maybe think about what toilet you want.....I see it has a pump out as standard but you might want to consider a cassette. Plenty of threads on here discussing the pros and cons of each. 

- A dinette, ideally elevated. So you can sit at a table and eat whilst looking at the canals (which will matter a lot more to you as leisure boaters). Also makes spare beds if you and your husband have guests.

- A side hatch, or better still one each side (if you can: if it's the boat in the picture and it just needs the interior done it might be too late). Lets summer heat out, lets you look out and it can be another exit for the boat

- Two heat sources (probably a multifuel stove and diesel heated radiators) so you can use the boat in winter

- A few spare grand to spend on storing and maintaining it!