Purchasing without a survey?

Jennarasion

Featured Posts

Hi guys, complete newbie here.

Ive just found a 1975 cruiser stern 40ft liveaboard. Needs remodeling, but from what I could see everything was working. (I still have to wrap my head around the electrics, but thats a different post). The boat is only 8k, which is cheap as chips as far as I'm concerned.

Obviously, everyone says that you need a survey before buying a boat, to know what condition the hull is in. I wanted to go this route too, but Ive just discovered that there are no easy ways to get the boat out of water where I am (two local marinas, 1 the slipway isn't ready, the others crane isnt in service).

I know that the hull has had some overplating in the past (maybe 2012). I think the last survey was 2008, the interior of the hull couldn't be accessed. 

The current owner has continously cruised on it for 6 years, last blacking was 5 years ago. 

How likely is it that the hull is in shambles? Assuming the absolute worst and the hull needs to be completely replated, could this be done when I take it out the water to black it? Would whoever is doing it know and recommend it? Ive heard that its worse when the boat is in a marina (which i plan to be in), so is it theoretically not too bad at the moment? 

At £8k it's hardly worth spending the thick end of a grand on getting it surveyed. So the question is, can you afford to lose £8k if it turns out to be a colander?  If it needs overplating then that will cost more than the boat is worth, so probably not worth doing unless the boat is something very special.

Just be aware that without an out-of-water hull survey with all recommendations carried out, you will only be able to get third party insurance.

Can you afford to lose the £8k as, if it turns out to be a 'scrapper' it has no value.