What is a fair value for this boat

lxs602

Featured Posts

Hi,

I'm new to narrowboating.

I was looking at a boat via a private sale, through a friend of a friend, which is a 60' steel boat from the late 1960's, with a steel hull and wood cabin. It has a Lister HR3 engine in very good order.

The hull is thin, at 5mm, but there was no significant loss found on a hull survey, with 1.2mm pitting in a couple of places. There is a few feet of welding to do around the wear edge (which will be sorted by the sellers) and more readings need taking from the base plate, as it wasn't lifted high enough. It has just been repainted and reblacked, and the anodes replaced. There had also been some water ingress, but the cabin has been made watertight, although the floorboards need replacing and there was corrosion to the gunwhales. The bilge area on the inside also needs draining and painting, and the engine room cleaning out. The insulation is Kingspan boards on one side, and rock wool on the other.

The fit out is basic and will need redoing (see pictures), but I just want somewhere simple and dry - it doesn't need to be fancy. The gas will needs sorting out (it's currently a gas bottle connected to a camping stove). There are a good number of solar panels, and the leisure batteries are in good condition. There is no shower currently (but I can use the shower at work / the gym, or just use a tin bathtub for the timebeing).

I looked at prices for similar boats, and I thought the asking price was fair, at £16k, given the current market, which is very hot. I was surprised, however, when I emailed the surveyor a few days ago to ask for an estimate of value, and he gave £5-10k, saying "there was a lot of work to be done".  I know it is at the entry side of the market, but it seemed low to me, and I still think around £15k on comparison to other boats.

I would really appreciate some opinions of what would be fair to offer from people who may have a lot more experience.