Dangerous and irresponsible hire practice

MrsM

Featured Posts

I might cause offense here:-

Just came to King's Sutton lock on the Oxford. At the landing was a beached hire boat from Twyford Wharf with 5 mature (and not particularly spritely) ladies on board. They were rather anxious and had only been on the boat, which they were hiring for the day, for 20 minutes. They were all COMPLETE newbies - had never been on a narrowboat before and had never been through a lock or seen how they work. They did not have the faintest clue what they were doing and asked for our help. They had phoned the hirer for help. 

Hubby started the job of refloating their boat and two of the ladies asked if they could help take our boat through the lock in the meantime so they could learn what to do. Granted these are only single locks but this has a 10'8" drop and the cill marking is not the clearest - not that they knew what the cill was, or that they must avoid hanging their boat up on it. 

The hirer arrived as we were taking our boat out of the lock. I am disgusted at the irresponsibility of not taking a group of newbie boaters through their first ever lock to ensure they will be safe. Conditions are not the easiest either due to difficulties getting close to the edge in the pound above the lock.

There is absolutely no excuse for putting people at risk - sheer laziness IMHO. Not good enough! 😠

Edited by MrsM
Typo (angry fingers)
  • Greenie 2
  • Horror 1

5 minutes ago, haggis said:

I thought that day boats did not usually go through locks and assumed that it was the hire company who imposed the restriction 

Its not a rule. Plenty of operators run day boats, in an area where they would need to go through locks (or have a very boring 20-30 mins of canal boating.....)

I have experienced similar. Meeting a hire boat coming towards me, he was fairly well over to his left, I naturally moved over to my right, but the hire boat kept coming towards me dead ahead.