Back to front

LadyG

Featured Posts

I managed to sail blissfully past the last winding hole, it's 5 furlongs back, boat is irregular in astern , what about breasting up with someone going t'other way?

I have spotted a potential tow boat.

but I'd not ask if it's going to be hard to steer

• Haha 2

13 minutes ago, howardang said:

Here's a golden opportunity to practise steering while going astern. 5 furlongs is not too far and it will be a skill that once you have learned it will be there for life.

Howard

I've been sailing backwards for forty years, but this one is not predictable and there are quite a few boats moored.

I've tried full revs astern, low revs astern, but it won't go where I point, best if winds are strong so I can  be 'wind assisted'

12 minutes ago, Thomas C King said:

Is it always irregular when going astern? I find it really changes depending on wind and current. Sometimes easy, other times not.

Oh yes, best with steady wind, worst if canal is shallow, I don't mind if there are no boats moored up, but there are quite a few.

Edited by LadyG

My boat is only steerable forwards, so reversing is a right pain. 

If I need to reverse a few hundred yards I put it into reverse around tickover speed, and I lead it backwards without having to pull much. But that's only doable if there are no boats moored along the towpath to get in the way of me towing, and I sometimes have to stop the boat bumping into the bank.

A guy I met not long after starting out told me about the standard reversing technique of using forward throttle to point the boat in the direction you need, as you do when winding, and then once you've got it pointing the right way, going into reverse to cover some distance.

In reverse my boat will veer off in random directions no matter what way the tiller is held, so before too long I have to go into forward gear again in order redirect the boat, and then when its lined up I go back into reverse and cover more distance.