I'm new to boating.. Where is the best to start my journey from?

Biafreespirit

Featured Posts

I'm buying a Narrowboat to live on the canal for the first time as a continuous cruiser. I'm so excited!😊 I heard that there is a very good community . I'm a bit worried regarding the security... How often people break in? What are the best alternatives to avoid that?The boat is now in Hayfield marina and I want to move it somewhere near Ealing ... But I don't know exactly where. Can someone please recommend me as I don't know where I can find space as well. 

Thank you in advance lovely people. 😊

3 minutes ago, Biafreespirit said:

I'm buying a Narrowboat to live on the canal for the first time as a continuous cruiser. I'm so excited!😊 I heard that there is a very good community . I'm a bit worried regarding the security..I would suggest you joint the London Boaters Facebook page. How often people break in? What are the best alternatives to avoid that?The boat is now in Hayfield marina and I want to move it somewhere near Ealing ... But I don't know exactly where. Can someone please recommend me as I don't know where I can find space as well. 

I would suggest you go on Facebook and join the London Boaters group. The are on the spot so as to say.

• Greenie 1

4 minutes ago, mrsmelly said:

Popcorn anyone?

2 minutes ago, ditchcrawler said:

I would suggest you go on Facebook and join the London Boaters group. The are on the spot so as to say.

Don't be mean Mrsmelly!

We don't want to scare new boaters off.

To the OP, break ins and vandalism are fairly rare,and can happen anywhere.

Be careful where you moor and avoid stopping in known scrote areas.You will get to know where these are.

You say you want to continuously cruise,so I assume you don't have to be around London,(unless you work there)

The Northern canals are much quieter and I think nicer scenery wise.The beer is also cheaper!

• Greenie 1

33 minutes ago, Biafreespirit said: