Newbie with questions!

joxley1990

Featured Posts

Hi all, 

Thank you for taking the time to open my post. 

My name is James, I am 31 and currently live in the Altrincham area (on land!).

After a long think, I have decided that I would like to purchase and live on a narrowboat in the area. I am wanting to stay in the area due to family living here, and also because of work commitments. I am a lift engineer and I am based in the North, so working from home is not an option for me.

I have always lived in the area and do not want to move from it. The house prices here are eye-watering, and I have come to realise over the past few years that buying some where round here, even a small apartment, is extremely difficult, if not impossible on my own. So, after ALOT of thought, I have concluded that living on a narrowboat in the area, or relatively close makes sense.

I have always been an outdoor personality type, and I prefer rustic living instead of modern and flashy apartments/houses. The idea of the lifestyle appeals to me more and more I think about it. The thought of the rain hammering down on the roof while a stove is roaring away is bliss, but also the sun beaming down through an open deck door sounds incredible. 

So, I have read up, and watched countless youtube videos for the past few weeks, and it still appeals to me, but I would love some feedback from people who are actually living the canal life!

I will not bombard my first post with a thousand questions, as I will explore the forum as I am sure some of my questions will have been asked and answered before now. 

I am swayed toward a semi traditional 50ft. However, feedback on boat size would be great. I will be on my own, but I do not want to feel cramped. Is this size about right for a live on?

Undecided on buying one thats ready to go and needs minimal personalisation, or whether to buy one that is run down (interior wise) and for me to fit it out exactly as I want.