Atlanta 27

Featured Posts

Hi recently inherited an atlanta 27 volvo penta v6 petrol engine, boat is on a canal, is in very good overall condition but showing signs of water ingress around the internal cabin windows, the outer seals are old and perished. 

My question at this point is how do I reseal these ?? Sikaflex any good for this ?? 

Thankyou in advance must be said also I'm a complete novice but very handy with most things but more than willing to learn 😅 

Welcome to the forum.

Ideally, you would want to replace the seals. This would involve doing whatever dismantling was required, probably with the frames taken off the boat. A good chance that Seals Direct will be able to match the rubber profiles used. Sikaflex, or  the like is a bodge and unlikely to be satisfactory for long.

The images i have found seem to show aluminium framed windows so the first thing to decide is the leak between glass and frame or frame and cabin side. If the former then the windows will have to come out, be taken apart and resealed with new rubbers as Jen says. If the latter then the windows should still come out, all the old sealant removed and then replaced with new sealer "mastic"

strip or close cell neoprene that is available form most chandlers.

A problem may be that screws holding the frame into the GRP have broken out of the GRP and that may cause problems getting a firm fixing.

Thanks for the swift reply's! I will get some pics next time I go down, the inside of the windows don't seem to leak at all inside the cabin, apart from the two which slide open and where they close and meet the frame you can tell they have been letting small amounts of water in for some time as the wooden interiour is soft and wet at this area (just a little) 

But outside looking at the windows there is a seal around them that seems to be coming out/perishing 🤔

Also there is what I think is called a port hatch at the front of the boat which seems to get allot of condensation on