Taking her up the Thames!

CanalPirate

Featured Posts

I've just bought a 58ft narrowboat from Pyrford Marina and want to take her straight up the Thames on to the K&A(I live in Reading) besides the river Trial I took her on, I've got no real Boat experience, any tips/tricks for me to keep in mind on old father Thames? And a real longshot but any experienced boaters heading up the Thames on the weekend of 2nd October? I'm going to France in the meantime so will pay with Wine for anyone willing to take me under their wing!  

Edited by CanalPirate

There will be other advice along shortly I would guess, but since the section you are going on isn't tidal the only obvious advice I'd give would be keep away from the weirs and don't go if the river level boards are anything other than green (not in flood or even thinking about going into flood). Other than that it is a big enough river to accommodate many errors and the plastic boats will keep out of your way;). Curiously one of my earlier narrowboat holidays was round London on the Regents Canal and then out at Limehouse up to Brentford on the tidal bit, it was only when I got my own boat that I really thought about the perils of it:huh:

Thanks wanderer, I've fished the Thames in my youth and it just scares me as a river! I think I'll be alright, I just don't want to go into it all cocky when there are so many experienced boaters out there! It's exactly as you said, now it's my boat the perils are so much more obvious! Cheers for replying and hope I see you on the cut

16 minutes ago, CanalPirate said:

I just don't want to go into it all cocky when there are so many experienced boaters out there!

Stay within your own safety limits.

Keep an open mind, don't take risks but learn from your daily experiences.

Don't be overly in awe of the "so many experienced boaters out there" 

Sadly experienced people aren't guaranteed to be devoid of stupidity. 

1 hour ago, CanalPirate said: