Thermx Caravan heaters?

Mel Good

Featured Posts

Just bought a boat today - I am totally new to the boating world! It's a Broom Commander 35 apparently - my question is around the gas heaters onboard - are they safe? What could I replace them with? They look pretty old and dangerous but I am worried about removing them as they are hooked up to gas. Any support is much appreciated 

IMG_6793.jpg

It doesn't appear to have a flue to the outside, so even if it works correctly and produces no harmful combustion products like carbon monoxide, it will produce much water which may give you a problem with condensation.

The Boat Safety Scheme inspector may also have a thing or two to say about it!

There are lots of alternatives from cheap Chinese ducted hot air diesel heaters for less than £100 to Eberspachers and others for more than £1000.

I have used one of the Chinese ones bought through eBay and it's been great for 4 years now with zero maintenance. I also use a Taylor's drip feed heater which uses no 12 volt at all which can be useful.

It all depends on what you want to spend and what space and layout you have for installation.

Those things are called catalytic heaters and were popular in the 70s. I never quite understood how they worked, other than by taking gas and converting it into CO2, water vapour and heat by a means other than combustion. Being flueless the CO2 and and water vapour all ends up inside the boat so by today's standards, they are considered unsafe. I dunno if they would be a BSS fail. I've an idea the only flueless appliances BSS allows are cooking appliances.

Edited by MtB
Add a bit.

I'd be happy to have gas on board for cooking, but nothing else.