Buying: ironworks maker? wooden cabin? Advice needed!

Featured Posts

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum so please forgive me if I somehow posted this in the wrong place.

I'm looking to buy my first boat and came across an ad that looks like my perfect, ideal one: lovely interior, desired layout, in my price range etc.

BUT it hasn't been blacked since 2016 AND it's a wooden cabin, which I don't know much about. How worrying are those things? I've read extreme opinions both ways about wooden cabins... This one looks in great condition on the photos but I'm not an expert so I need advice: what to look for? Do you have any recommendations for a surveyor who knows enough about wooden cabins to spot hidden flaws (the boat is in Oxford ATM)?

I have read as much as I can about this but all the posts I found about this on this forum were at least 8 years old hence this new thread.

Also, it's got a Lister Petter SW2 engine, which — again— I don't know if it's a good or a bad thing.

I hope it's ok to ask these questions here — I'm new to all this and I want to find a boat I can call home for the next few years! Don't mind having to work on it/learn DIY skills/spend some money on it but I'm not rich so can't afford to buy the wrong boat! All the threads I've read so far were very helpful and friendly so I hope you'll be able to help.

Many thanks

Welcome to the forum

A boat that has not been blacked since 2016 AND has a wooden cabin is likely to be a bit of a can of worms. That is not to say it might be ok for someone capable to fixing stuff themselves but you have to ask why it has not been blacked and if an important piece of maintenance like that has not been completed then what else has been neglected? 

Wooden cabins need some regular care to keep them rot free and watertight. A nice old engine that may be absolutely fine for years to come but if it has not had a regular oil change then has it reduced its life and how easy is it to get parts?