Water tank re-paint time!

Featured Posts

Anyone have the answer as to which is the best product to use on our water tank after preparing the surface? Neutrarust 661, Fertan and Vactan have been suggested but I would love to hear of any tried and tested ( and successful) projects.

Many thanks

12 minutes ago, sue.stew said:

Anyone have the answer as to which is the best product to use on our water tank after preparing the surface? Neutrarust 661, Fertan and Vactan have been suggested but I would love to hear of any tried and tested ( and successful) projects.

Many thanks

I have no experience of Neutrarust, but of the other two, Vactan is the cleaner option. Fertan, in my experience, needs a lot of rinsing. 

Not much help but, I used Vactan for the first time last September, I had to leave it a few weeks before blacking due to Covid restrictions.

Then a couple of weeks between each blacking coat, again Covid.

Because the boat has been winterised I haven't had chance to fill the tank.

Picture is about 1/2 hour after applying the Vactan.

Don't forget to do the underside of the foredeck. Condensation often gathers there and can lead to rust.

When I eventually get back to the boat I have some Aqua Clean - Puriclean to flush through the system including the calorifier.

Water Purification - Aqua Clean - Puriclean | Leisureshopdirect

Puriclean 400g Tub - Water tank Cleaner

IMGP4936.JPG

Edited by Ray T

At the risk of being Captain Obvious, I presume that you are applying some special tank-paint after the rust-treatment? I guess that  which ever product that is will dictate what to use underneath it. The video I've seen showed a bitumenous coating bit I am sure that there are others as tanks are often lined and painted in industry. (not to mention classic motorcycles, but not usually for drinking water!)

11 minutes ago, MartinW said: