What makes a narrowboat cheaper than another narrowboat?

08hjhi

Featured Posts

Hi all,

I'm new to narrow boats and currently looking for my first purchase to live on! I have a budget of £35K, and with that amount I do expect to buy something that I'm prepared to do some work on to either update things, or just modernise the interior. 

I've seen a boat advertised online (link below) that size wise and fit out wise really meet my specifications, and from the look of the interior there'd be no work that I would have to do. My question to you all is, why is it so cheap for what you seem to get? I'm still learning what factors make a difference to the price, but for this boat the only disadvantages seem to be a boat builder (Conmac) that I can't find anything on, its an owner fit out, and the paintwork seems very scruffy. No info on hull condition (no recent survey), and the blacking hasn't been done since 2017.

https://www.greathaywoodboatsales.co.uk/shop/hydra-3/

If you wouldn't mind taking a look for me and offering some advice for a newbie, I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

Inside has been tarted up recently. Outside is scruffy. Blacking was done in 2017 so due to be done again. BSC expires this year (and the current BSC probably doesn't reflect the current fitout, so may not be valid).

If you are seriously interested I would suggest you offer subject to survey and insist on a new BSC as part of the deal.

It looks very smart inside ("tarted up" is perhaps a little unkind). The layout with bunks and a walk-through bathroom may put some prospective buyers off and thus lower the asking price a little, and the exterior would benefit from refreshing. But the main factor is surely that it's over 30 years old.