will it be rubbish

Tony marsh

Featured Posts

Hi there , I'm new to the whole world of narrowboats is it possible to get a boat in pretty good condition and ready to cruise that would last a good few years without any major work needed on a budget of 25000 I only need something about 40 feet as I'm on my own,  sorry if this is a stupid question but if you don't ask you'll never know. 

• Greenie 1

Not at all stupid and yes you can. You can also spend twice that amount and have problems though. If you have friends who genuinely know a thing or two about boats that would be helpful but a lot of people just trot out the same old myths and half knowledge. Remember, it really is just a mild steel box that corrodes and a whole lot of equipment that if you sold it on E Bay wouldn't fetch more than a few thousand.

12 minutes ago, Tony marsh said:

Hi there , I'm new to the whole world of narrowboats is it possible to get a boat in pretty good condition and ready to cruise that would last a good few years without any major work needed on a budget of 25000 I only need something about 40 feet as I'm on my own,  sorry if this is a stupid question but if you don't ask you'll never know. 

Yes. 

1 hour ago, Tony marsh said:

In the current market you will be lucky, but its not impossible, it is likely to be an elderly boat (20+ years)  and hence is more likely to have higher running costs -but - also remember to allow in your budget for :

£1000 for a survey

£1000 for Insurance and licence

£xxxx's for a mooring ( £2500 for a leisure mooring 'up North' to £15,000 per annum for a residential mooring in London)

It is usually advised to keep some cash back for 'emergencies' (when the engine stops and you are miles form anywhere and need to call out 'International rescue'). It is a fair bet that something major & fairly expensive will break within your 'good few years'