40ft 80,s springer for 17.5k.......help needed

Pablo Blanco

Featured Posts

I’ve been on the lookout for a cheap boat to use as a live aboard.....by cheap I mean 15k cheap

Have come across a 40Ft springer built early 80,s with 
BMC 2.2 Commander 50hp that looks ancient to my untrained eye but has new starter, alternator pimp and injectors seller says.
  It only has 12v power but with three newish leisure batteries.

7 year old boiler.

BSC till 2022 last survey 5 years ago by current owner........6mm plate down to 4.5 mill in places and needs some pitting welded up.

Interior is probably best described as basic and very tired, really needs a complete rip out and start again I think but it is liveable at least until next spring/summer when i might have more clue on what I need to do to make the boat my own, if you know what I mean? 

He wants 17.5 k

opinions and advice very much appreciated as I am a total newbie, totally green behind the ears where canal living Is concerned but I really do fancy trying it and the price is within my reach.

Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Paul

Not what you want to hear, but, at boat at that sort of age and that sort of price will not only swallow your budget buying it but will cost £1000's each year repairing it (+_don't forget you will need to licence it, insure it and probably pay for a mooring - another  £3,000 ?)

A survey will cost you approaching £1000

If you could get it for £10k and spend £5k making 'sea worthy' and safe it may be worth it. 

Remember the boat safety certificate is NOT considering your safety and is not considering the canal-worthiness of the boat, the BSSC simply looks to make sure it won't injure or kill any C&RT staff or passers by.

Recommend you keep saving a bit longer and buy a boat that is not going to need 'thousands' spent keeping it afloat. It is estimated that it costs around £5000 per year to run and maintain a 'good'boat'

Edited by Alan de Enfield